US terms, read 31 October 2026
Lifetime warranties, read and compared
Every term below was read on from the maker's own page
A "lifetime" warranty is almost always limited. It usually covers defects in materials and workmanship, not wear, loss, misuse or accidents, and "lifetime" is often defined as the product's usable life, or for as long as the first buyer owns it. Some makers need a receipt, some do not transfer to a second owner, and some charge for shipping or a fee.
So quote the maker's wording, not the headline. Each card gives the term in the maker's words, what the page says is and is not covered, and a link to the page itself. "Not stated" means the page we read says nothing on that point, not that the maker has no rule. Terms change, so check the source page before you rely on one. These are US consumer terms; other countries often differ.
36 makers are here. Makers marked as having a pick have a product on this list; the warranty does not decide what we list, and this page carries no affiliate links.
Jump to
Lifetime or life-of-product terms
The maker uses the word lifetime, or a phrase that means it. Read the definition each one gives. (23 makers)
-
Darn Tough
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words "Guaranteed for Life"; replacement pair
- Covered
- Worn-out or damaged socks, replaced with a credit code for a new pair
- Not covered
- Seconds or irregulars
- Who it applies to
- Not stated. No receipt needed, only the socks
- Proof of purchase
- None needed ("no receipt needed")
- How to claim
- Online claim form, mail the clean socks, receive a code for a replacement; also in-store at select retailers
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: darntough.com
-
Briggs & Riley
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL pick: Briggs & Riley Baseline Global 21" Carry-On Expandable Spinner
Term, in the maker's words Lifetime ("Simple as that" guarantee)
- Covered
- Repair of all functional aspects, even after you buy a newer model; airline damage repaired free if you do not claim from the airline
- Not covered
- Cosmetic wear, odor or stain cleaning, lost or stolen bags and contents, UV or water damage from poor storage
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated on this page
- How to claim
- Repair request on the site; you pay shipping to them, they pay return shipping; DIY kits and authorized repair centers
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: briggs-riley.com
-
Buck
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Buck 110 Folding Hunter , Buck 112 Ranger
Term, in the maker's words Forever Warranty, "for the life of the knife"
- Covered
- Defects in material and workmanship; repair or replace at Buck's choice
- Not covered
- Normal wear, misuse (hammer, pry bar), coating wear, dishwasher damage, rust, disassembled knives, lost or stolen. Sheaths: 1 year
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Download and send the claim form, or email or call the warranty line
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: buckknives.com
-
Cutco
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words Forever Guarantee
- Covered
- Performance of any product, including free sharpening; fixed or replaced
- Not covered
- Page read does not list exclusions
- Who it applies to
- Buyer or gift recipient ("whether you made the initial purchase or received Cutco as a gift")
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Return for repair or replacement; a nominal return shipping and handling fee applies
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: cutco.com
-
Eagle Creek
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words "No Matter What" warranty, "for the life of your gear"
- Covered
- Defects in materials and workmanship (wheels, handles, zippers, fabric tears, frames, buckles); repaired or credit toward replacement
- Not covered
- Aging, misuse, cosmetic damage, lost or stolen, gear no longer with the original owner, unauthorized sellers. The page defines product lifetime as its reasonable usable life, "not based on the owner's lifetime"
- Who it applies to
- Original owner
- Proof of purchase
- May be asked
- How to claim
- Warranty request form; you ship to a repair center, Eagle Creek pays materials, labor and return shipping within the country
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: eaglecreek.com
-
Fiskars (also Gingher)
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Gingher 5in Straight Fabric Scissors , Gingher 8in Dressmaker Shears , Gingher 8in Utility Shears and 1 more
Term, in the maker's words Default: as long as the original buyer owns the product; some lines have a shorter listed period
- Covered
- Defects in materials and workmanship; repair, replace or refund
- Not covered
- Wear, sharpening, misuse, accident, unauthorized repair, parts, accessories and consumables, unauthorized resellers
- Who it applies to
- Original end-user purchaser or gift recipient; not transferable
- Proof of purchase
- May be required (receipt or invoice, photos)
- How to claim
- Online warranty claim form; you may need to ship the product at your cost
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: fiskars.com
-
Gerber
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Gerber Paraframe Mini , Gerber Center-Drive , Gerber Suspension NXT
Term, in the maker's words Limited lifetime in North America (25 years outside it), "for as long as the original consumer owns the product"
- Covered
- Defects in materials and workmanship; repaired, replaced, substituted or refunded
- Not covered
- Misuse, wear, sharpening, accident, industrial use, parts and accessories, unauthorized resellers, unauthorized repair
- Who it applies to
- Original purchaser or gift recipient only; not transferable
- Proof of purchase
- Implied (authorized purchase); not itemized
- How to claim
- Warranty claim form online; typical response 7 to 10 business days
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: gerbergear.com
-
Hydro Flask
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL pick: Hydro Flask Wide Mouth, 32 oz
Term, in the maker's words "Limited to the lifetime of your Hydro Flask product"
- Covered
- Manufacturing defects; replaced with same size and color, or similar if discontinued
- Not covered
- Misuse, cleaning or disassembly damage, wear and tear, abuse, fire, acts of God
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Authorized dealer purchase required; may request proof
- How to claim
- Online warranty claim; you ship the product back before a replacement goes out
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: faq.hydroflask.com
-
Le Creuset
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Le Creuset Signature Skillet 6in , Le Creuset Heritage Fluted Pie Dish 9in , Le Creuset Stoneware Vancouver Mug 14oz and 1 more
Term, in the maker's words Enameled cast iron: Lifetime Limited Warranty. Tri-ply stainless, metal bakeware, toughened non-stick PRO: lifetime. Stoneware 10 years; kettles and stockpots 5 years; corkscrews 5 or 10 years
- Covered
- Defects in material and workmanship at purchase, normal household use
- Not covered
- Abuse, commercial use, neglect, abnormal wear, overheating; lifetime term does not apply to non-stick coated cookware, non-cast-iron pieces and accessories (enameled cast iron terms)
- Who it applies to
- Original retail buyer, or a consumer who receives it new and unused as a gift; coverage ends if sold or transferred
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Online claim form; allow up to 1 week for a reply
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: lecreuset.com
-
Lodge
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Lodge Cast Iron Loaf Pan , Lodge Cast Iron Baking Pan , Lodge 12" Cast Iron Skillet and 11 more
Term, in the maker's words Made Right Limited Lifetime Warranty
- Covered
- Seasoned and enameled cast iron that cracks, chips or warps in normal cooking, casting defects, damaged in transit
- Not covered
- Commercial use, accidents, misuse, overheating; color change, rust, staining, scuffing; enamel misuse (empty stovetop heating, metal utensils, stacking, campfire, microwave)
- Who it applies to
- Original individual purchaser or gift recipient
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Form on Lodge's Returns and Troubleshooting page; Lodge may ask for photos or return at its expense
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: lodgecastiron.com
-
Osprey
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Osprey Daylite Commuter , Osprey Daylite Expandable 26+6 , Osprey Daylite Plus and 7 more
Term, in the maker's words All Mighty Guarantee, no age limit ("produced in 1974 or yesterday")
- Covered
- Any damage or defect repaired free; replaced if unrepairable
- Not covered
- Page read lists exceptions only for term-limited lines (see changes). Other exclusions are in Osprey's Terms of Use (not read)
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Repair form gives a return number by email; ship within 120 days; you pay inbound shipping, Osprey pays repair and return; current turnaround 8 to 12 weeks
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: osprey.com and knowledge-base.osprey.com (Page text dated 21 Aug 2025.)
-
Pelican
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Pelican 1510 Protector Case with Foam , Pelican 70 Quart Elite Cooler
Term, in the maker's words Limited lifetime, injection molded cases only (not Vault)
- Covered
- Breakage or defects in workmanship; repair or replace. Watertight rating stated
- Not covered
- Case contents and foam; altered, abused or misused cases. Liability capped at the case purchase price
- Who it applies to
- "The purchaser"
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Claim form, then a return authorization number; purchaser pays freight
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: pelican.com
-
Peak Design
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Peak Design Everyday Backpack 20L , Peak Design Capture Camera Clip V3 , Peak Design Slide Camera Strap and 4 more
Term, in the maker's words Lifetime warranty
- Covered
- Manufacturing defects and failures that make any part non-functional; repair or replace, often with refurbished stock
- Not covered
- Cosmetic wear, misuse, lost or stolen, apparel (defects only), factory seconds, counterfeits. Products with rechargeable batteries: 2 years
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Warranty claim form on the page; may require the item back for inspection
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: peakdesign.com
-
Spyderco
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Spyderco Delica 4 , Spyderco Para 3 , Spyderco Tenacious Lightweight
Term, in the maker's words "For the life of the product" (the page avoids the word lifetime)
- Covered
- Defects in material and workmanship
- Not covered
- Loss, theft, accidents, abuse, misuse, neglect, improper sharpening, wear, unauthorized repair, aftermarket parts, knives disassembled in a way that harms function
- Who it applies to
- "The owner of a genuine Spyderco product" (not limited to the original buyer on this page)
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Print and enclose the Warranty and Repair Form; customer pays shipping both ways
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: spyderco.com
-
Stanley
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Stanley Classic Legendary Vacuum Bottle, 1 qt , Stanley Heritage Classic Vacuum Bottle 1.1qt , Stanley Classic Legendary Food Jar, 24 oz and 1 more
Term, in the maker's words Lifetime on stainless vacuum drinkware and food containers (not lids, seals or straws)
- Covered
- Defects in material and workmanship, including loss of thermal performance
- Not covered
- Counterfeits, wear, scratches, dents, misuse, accidents, modifications such as engraving, non-stainless parts; unauthorized sellers
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- May require proof or return of product
- How to claim
- Online claim form; may ask for photos or video
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: stanley1913.com
-
Streamlight
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Streamlight MicroStream USB Rechargeable Pocket Flashlight , Streamlight ProTac 1L-1AA , Streamlight ProTac 2L-X and 5 more
Term, in the maker's words Limited lifetime ("a lifetime of use")
- Covered
- Defects; repair, replace or refund
- Not covered
- Batteries, bulbs, abuse, normal wear; rechargeable batteries, chargers, switches and electronics: 2 years with proof of purchase; Sidewinder series, KeyMate USB, Pocket Mate, QB, Bandit and Bandit Pro are excluded from the lifetime term
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Requested for claims
- How to claim
- Call or use an authorized service center
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: streamlight.com
-
Thule
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL pick: Thule Chasm Duffel 70L
Term, in the maker's words "Limited Lifetime" tier: carriers, racks and accessories, technical backpacks, luggage and duffels, bike bags, daypacks, laptop and camera cases, trailers. Other tiers 2, 3 and 5 years
- Covered
- Defects in materials or workmanship; repair, then replacement, refund or credit
- Not covered
- Wear, scratches, accidents, modifications, unauthorized repair, misuse, overloading
- Who it applies to
- Original purchaser
- Proof of purchase
- Required: original invoice or receipt
- How to claim
- Contact the dealer first, then Thule in writing; purchaser ships, Thule refunds mailing cost on receipts
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: thule.com
-
Tilley
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words "Guaranteed for Life" on labeled items only
- Covered
- Normal wear and tear, poor workmanship, faulty material; free replacement
- Not covered
- Misuse, improper care, staining, fading, shrinking, grommet patina, frayed windcords. Unlabeled items not covered
- Who it applies to
- The registered buyer (must register within 60 days of purchase)
- Proof of purchase
- Registration needs store, date and receipt or order number; proof the old item was destroyed may be required
- How to claim
- Email guarantees@tilley.com with 3 photos
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: tilley.com
-
Victorinox
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Victorinox Fibrox 12 Inch Slicing Knife , Victorinox Fibrox Pro 6-Inch Boning Knife , Victorinox Fibrox 10.25" Bread Knife and 18 more
Term, in the maker's words Lifetime of the product (Swiss Army Knives, cutlery, travel gear lifetime tier)
- Covered
- Material or manufacturing defects in normal use
- Not covered
- Electronic components, accessories, small leather goods, brand collection and third-party items: 2 years. Watches 5 years; Journey backpacks 3 years
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Keep the receipt; authorized stores and retailers only
- How to claim
- Through Victorinox service (service site not read)
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: victorinox.com and victorinox.com
-
Vortex
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Vortex Crossfire HD 10x42 Binoculars , Vortex Crossfire HD 8x42 Binoculars , Vortex Diamondback HD 10x32 Binoculars and 6 more
Term, in the maker's words VIP Warranty, "Unlimited Unconditional Lifetime"
- Covered
- Any damage or defect, regardless of cause, fault or where bought; repaired or replaced with equal or better
- Not covered
- Loss, theft, deliberate damage, cosmetic damage that does not hinder performance
- Who it applies to
- Not stated on this page (transferability appears on other Vortex pages, not read)
- Proof of purchase
- Page says place of purchase does not matter
- How to claim
- Call 1-800-4VORTEX or the online service request
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: vortexoptics.com
-
Wusthof
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Wüsthof Classic 8in Chef's Knife , Wusthof Classic Ikon 8-Inch Chef's Knife , Wüsthof Gourmet 8in Chef's Knife and 2 more
Term, in the maker's words Limited lifetime ("for your lifetime")
- Covered
- Defects in workmanship or materials in normal culinary use in the US
- Not covered
- Bent tips, chipped or broken blades, frozen food or bones, jars and cans, hard surfaces, wooden parts, commercial use. Remedy is usually a promotional code for the item's value, not a like-for-like replacement
- Who it applies to
- Initial purchaser or gift recipient
- Proof of purchase
- Not itemized
- How to claim
- Mail the product to the Milford, CT returns address with the form
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: wusthof.com
-
Zippo
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL pick: Zippo Brass Pocket Lighter
Term, in the maker's words "It works or we fix it free" lifetime warranty, windproof lighters
- Covered
- Mechanical function
- Not covered
- Finish and decoration are not covered; other Zippo products have different warranties
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Online repair form for windproof lighters
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: kb.zippo.com and kb.zippo.com
-
Zwilling
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL pick: Zwilling Twin L Kitchen Shears
Term, in the maker's words Valid "for as long as said purchaser owns the product"
- Covered
- Defects in material and workmanship; replacement of the same item where possible
- Not covered
- Normal wear, misuse, abuse, alteration, negligence; unauthorized sellers
- Who it applies to
- Initial purchaser only
- Proof of purchase
- Required: receipt, order confirmation, invoice or card statement
- How to claim
- Claim through the US warranty page
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: zwilling.com
Long terms that are not lifetime, or only partly
These are often quoted as lifetime warranties. The maker's own page says otherwise or limits it to some products. (13 makers)
-
Benchmade
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Benchmade Bugout 535 , Benchmade Griptilian 551 , Benchmade Mini Bugout
Term, in the maker's words Page says it aims to "keep your knife working for life"; the page text read does not use the phrase lifetime warranty. LifeSharp is a separate free-sharpening service
- Covered
- Manufacturing defects, internal mechanisms, handle or structural failure; free like-for-like blade or handle replacement for wear, material failure or accidental damage
- Not covered
- Cosmetic wear, misuse, modification; upgrades cost extra
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Warranty Service Form online; you receive a kit; $20 Service Kit fee on this page
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: support.benchmade.com
-
Black Diamond
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Black Diamond Astro 300 Headlamp , Black Diamond Cosmo 350 Headlamp , Black Diamond Spot 400 Headlamp and 1 more
Term, in the maker's words Packs and gloves: "practical product lifetime". Lighting 3 years, footwear 2, Jetforce pack 3 (battery 2), poles 2, beacons 2 (5 with registration), other products 2
- Covered
- Defects in material or manufacture
- Not covered
- Wear, misuse or excessive use, accident, modification, neglect; unauthorized sellers
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Required (proof of purchase or delivery)
- How to claim
- Warranty application online; shipping to BD at your cost
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: blackdiamondequipment.com
-
Filson
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words Lifetime of the item
- Covered
- Failure of materials, workmanship, manufacturer's defects
- Not covered
- Chemical and animal damage, leather neglect, alterations; repair for non-warranty damage is a paid service. $8 service and assessment fee on every online repair request
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Online repair request; items must be cleaned; 6 to 8 weeks
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: filson.com
-
KitchenAid (Tools and Gadgets only)
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words One-year replacement, then Lifetime Limited Warranty on tools and gadgets
- Covered
- Defects in material and workmanship; repaired or replaced
- Not covered
- Not listed on the page
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Ship to the Trenton NJ service address or call 1-800-541-6390
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: producthelp.kitchenaid.com
-
Leatherman
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Leatherman Micra , Leatherman Rev , Leatherman Rebar and 6 more
Term, in the maker's words 25-year limited warranty (not lifetime). 40 years for Insider members
- Covered
- Defects in material or manufacturing; repair, or comparable refurbished replacement
- Not covered
- Abuse, accessories and sheaths (2 years, with exceptions), apparel and soft goods, limited-run Garage tools (repair or store credit only), cosmetic finishes
- Who it applies to
- Authorized-dealer purchases
- Proof of purchase
- "May be required"
- How to claim
- Online form, mail the tool with the packing slip; Leatherman pays return shipping
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: leatherman.com
-
Maglite
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Maglite Mini Pro LED , Maglite ML300L LED 3-Cell D Flashlight
Term, in the maker's words 10-year limited warranty (not lifetime)
- Covered
- Defects in parts and workmanship
- Not covered
- Battery exhaustion or leakage, LED burnout or module failure, alteration, misuse
- Who it applies to
- Original owner
- Proof of purchase
- Counts from date of first retail purchase; not itemized
- How to claim
- Ship prepaid to Mag Instrument (Ontario, CA) or an authorized service center
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: maglite.com
-
Snap-on
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words By product warranty code; no blanket lifetime on this page
- Covered
- Defects in workmanship and materials
- Not covered
- Products not labeled Snap-on or Blue-Point, abnormal use
- Who it applies to
- Original customer only; not transferable
- Proof of purchase
- Date and proof of purchase required
- How to claim
- Call 1-877-762-7664 or email the customer care center
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: snapon.com
-
Speed Queen
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words 3, 5 or 7 years parts and labor by model (TR7006WN page: 7 years)
- Covered
- Parts and in-home labor
- Not covered
- Not read
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Not stated on the model page
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: speedqueen.com
-
Tom Bihn
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words Not a lifetime warranty. "Satisfaction guaranteed"
- Covered
- Defects that are Tom Bihn's fault, fixed free
- Not covered
- Wear and tear repaired at cost where possible; consequential damages; liability limited to the item
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Email for a guarantee repair
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: tombihn.com
-
Vitamix
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words 10 years, "full" on some models, "limited" on others
- Covered
- Full: defect or normal wear in ordinary household use, repair free; limited: defects in materials and workmanship
- Not covered
- Commercial or rental use, cosmetic changes, misuse, unauthorized repair
- Who it applies to
- Full warranty page: the owner, and ownership changes are allowed with an owner update. Limited warranty page: original owner, not transferable, authorized sellers only
- Proof of purchase
- Not itemized
- How to claim
- Via Vitamix customer service and the warranty link
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: vitamix.com and vitamix.com
-
Weber
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL picks: Weber Jumbo Joe Charcoal Grill, 18 inch , Weber Jumbo Joe Premium Charcoal Grill, 22 inch , Weber Original Kettle Charcoal Grill, 18 inch and 2 more
Term, in the maker's words Model schedule: for example Genesis II 10 years all parts; Genesis 12-year cookbox and lid; Q series 5 years
- Covered
- Defects; rust-through and burn-through terms by part
- Not covered
- Normal wear and tear; paint fading
- Who it applies to
- Not stated in the portion read
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated
- How to claim
- Weber customer service
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: amer.weber.com
-
Patagonia
Read 31 Oct 2026BIFL pick: Patagonia Black Hole Duffel 40L
Term, in the maker's words Ironclad Guarantee: "We guarantee everything we make", no fixed term
- Covered
- Repair, replacement or refund if a product does not perform
- Not covered
- Wear and tear is repaired at a reasonable charge
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Not stated on this article
- How to claim
- Return to the store or to Patagonia; 1-800-638-6464
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: help.patagonia.com
-
Rimowa
Read 31 Oct 2026Term, in the maker's words Lifetime Guarantee on suitcases bought from 25 July 2022
- Covered
- All functional damage; activated automatically at purchase
- Not covered
- Page read does not list exclusions
- Who it applies to
- Not stated
- Proof of purchase
- Registering the suitcase online is recommended to claim
- How to claim
- Care Experts network; registration tutorial
Source, read 31 Oct 2026: rimowa.com
How this was read
Each row was read on 31 October 2026 from the maker's own US page, nothing signed in and no form submitted. Makers whose pages we could not read in full are left out rather than guessed. Search summaries were used only to find the page, never as a source. Quote the source page and its date, and tell us if a maker has changed its terms.